ELEGIA FANTASTICA Y OBSTINATO GIOCOSO for viola and flute, Op. 21 (2017)

$20,00 – Comprar

Go to flute and others

Go to viola music

Piece in two parts for flute and viola.                                                                                                                                

I.- Elegia Fantástica                                                       

II.- Obstinato Giocoso                                                                                                                                               

Estimated during: ca. 10 minutes                                           

Format: PDF (files encrypted – password included)       

Work commissioned by the Venezuelan flutist María Fernanda Castillo. World Premiered on March 27, 2018 at the Britton Recital Hall of the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor (USA). The structure of the work is based on the so-called “French School of Flute” works, conceived in two contrasting movements as its title suggests. In the Fantastic Elegia we find solos of lyrical character on the part of both soloists, and in particular in the beginning a very short quotation of one of the works of that French School in the voice of the viola. Its construction in terms of musical discourse is progressive, from calm to more agitate mood. The Obstinato Giocoso, written in ABA form, consists of a perpetual movement that flows between both soloists. The central part consists of an episode of humorous character, accompanied by the viola in pizzicato in luck of imitation of a guitar. The work in both movements demands great technical skill on the part of both soloists.